Tags

, , ,

According to legend, Ernest Hemingway was either challenged or perhaps entered a bar bet that he could write a complete story in six words.  Well he won with the following story:

For sale: baby shoes, never used.

At first glance there is not much to see.  But if you ask yourself the question; why is it that the shoes have never been worn? then the story take on more meaning.

A few days ago I was speaking with my brother about short fiction.  I had just read Flannery O’Connor’s brilliant piece titled “Everything that Rises Must Converge.”  It is an amazing story because it’s an interaction between to very unlikeable characters.  Each character on their own would not make a story, but the combination of the two brings out a very meaningful dialog that will stay with you for a long time.

During the conversation with my brother, I mentioned the six word Hemingway story.  My brother was not really impressed and on the spot made up his own.

Sat down.  Couldn’t shit.  Wiped anyway.

The last two words were only added to make it six words.  At first I just laughed.  But then I thought about it.  Why would someone “wipe anyway?”  I can think of many reasons.  All of which I will never put to words.

I congratulated him later for his accidental literary genius.  I think his story Is just as valid as Hemingway’s was as being a six word complete story.