Tags

, , ,

In writing these articles for my blog, I intentionally do not do any research on the Internet.  I think about what I want to say for a week and then compose and edit it.  These articles are my opinions, plus a little more.  These articles are what I have done or thought that have produced good results in my writing.  They are hardly sage advice, but merely chronicles of how my brain works.  This week I am going to open the door, invite you in, and show you the process of what I have done to create the story I am writing, “Forbidden Descent.”

In my fiction writing class, many of the students seem to sit down and write sequentially.  They come up with a premise and see where the story takes them.  This can be good practice to develop ideas, but it seems to me this can only take you so far.  I feel that planning, and organization is a key skill that can take your story to then next level.

My story for my fiction writing class started with an image of something trying to get out of a cellar.  I spent a few weeks thinking about my story.  I ran through different scenarios as to where the story could go.  Each time I would make little changes to the story in my head and then I would logically think about what effect it might have on the rest of the story.  I took some notes, but for the most part, when I sat down and described the sequence of events that take place in my story I had very little written down.

Next I wrote a rough draft of the story.  I just pounded it out.  I did not worry too much about grammar or colorful words.  Then I realized that I had some issues with my character’s motivations and decided that I had to make even more changes.  The third and fourth drafts I added details, better words, and increased the pacing to make the story more compelling.  The fifth draft I worked on examining my character’s point of view.

I am now on the seventh draft, and the story is really starting to look nice.  I am far from done though.  I have more characterization to do.  I need to streamline my point of view (that is I need to do more showing instead of telling).  I plan to go through each line of my story and stylize each sentence to the best of my ability.

It’s a lot of work, but so far everyone I have shared the story with has really enjoyed it.